Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Declaration of Candidacy – 2018 General Elections

MARCH 21, 2018

Upon review of the submitted appeals, the Election Appeal Committee determined the following Declaration of Candidacy  submissions;

Listed Alphabetically

James Assiniboine: Deemed Eligible
Sharon Daniels: Deemed Ineligible
Yvette Prince: Deemed Eligible
Peter Yellowquill: Deemed Ineligible


As per the Long Plain First Nation Custom Election Act,

Article 13.18 “The Election Appeal Committee shall make a final and binding decision on all received written Appeal(s) of Candidacy six (6) days after the Declaration of Candidacy deadline.”


Article 13.20  “The decision of the Election Appeal Committee shall be in writing and a copy of the decision shall be provided to the Appellant, Respondent and Electoral Officer and be posted in at least three (3) conspicuous Long Plain entities/businesses and on social media in accordance with Article 13.18.”



Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


A signatory to Treaty 1, 1871 (Adhesion Treaty of June 20, 1876) Long Plain First Nation is an Ojibway and Dakota community in the central plains region of Manitoba.


The Long Plain population is over 4,500 and is comprised of 3 reserves of which 2 are urban. The urban reserves are situated along the city limits of Portage la Prairie and in the City of Winnipeg.



Subscribe to for Updates

Never miss any Update. Sign Up Today. If you do not receive your confirmation email immediately, please check your Spam.

Listen Live